As announced earlier in June, google will delete millions of unused Gmail accounts in December 2023. The decision came as a way to limit attacks and security threats such as spam, phishing scams and account hijacking.
Google said that various notification will be sent on these accounts before deletion. That process of deleting these unused accounts will be in different phases. Google will firstly delete accounts which were created but are never used again.
Account deletion will affect all linked Google accounts, including Gmail, Drive, Docs, Meet, Calendar, and Photos.
To avoid deletion of Google accounts, users must sign in to their accounts at least once two years.
Ruth Kricheli, VP for Product Management, said that “the move is one designed to curb attacks and security threats, including “spam, phishing scams and account hijacking.” Dormant accounts are more susceptible to attacks than ones that are maintained, because the company frequently rolls out security updates such as two-factor authentication (2FA) to improve account protection.