20 teams finalized for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 as Uganda Qualify for the First Time


Next year’s ICC men’s T20 cricket World Cup will see 20 teams competing for the prestigious trophy. This is the biggest number of teams that will participate in any ICC event. The United States of America and West Indies are the combined hosts of the World Cup happening in 2024.


Uganda and Namibia were the last two teams to book their tickets to the 2024 ICC T20 World Cup. Uganda and Namibia qualified from Africa qualifying rounds.


United States of America qualified for the tournament as hosts, the two countries are hosting the mega event as joined hosts alongside WestIndies. The mega tournament will be a ground-breaking event for U.S.A as it is the first ICC tournament to be hosted by any American region country.


The upcoming World Cup will showcase a new format, never seen before in any ICC event. There will be two rounds before the top four teams will go to the semi-finals.


The 20 teams will be divided into four groups, with five teams in each group. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super Eight rounds. In the Super Eight round the teams will be split into two groups of four the teams each. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals of the tournament.


U.S.A and West Indies got an automatic qualification as hosts of the event. Next ten spots were filled on basis of performance. The top eight teams in ICC T20 rankings till November 14, 2022 qualified for World Cup on been the top eight teams in ICC rankings. Bangladesh and Afghanistan qualified for the world cup as the next two best performing teams. Bangladesh and Afghanistan were next best teams in the previous world cup.


The remaining eight teams qualified for the mega event through global qualifiers, where each region/ continent had fixed spots. Namibia and Uganda from African region, Scotland and Ireland from Europe, Nepal and Oman from Asia, Canada from America and Papua New Guinea from East Asia Pacific qualified for the world cup.


The full list of 20 teams who will play in 2024 T20 Cricket World Cup are.

West Indies

United States of America





New Zealand


South Africa

Sri Lanka






Papa New Guinea





Written by Team


Leave a Reply

Mahira Khan to make Malayalam film debut

Google Pushes for Antitrust Action against Microsoft in UK